POLITICALLY SPEAKING: Hanging in the balance

Daniel Chida

Botswana Congress Party President (BCP), Dumelang Saleshando has landed between a rock and a hard place as some of his Members of Parliament have been on record criticizing his leadership style.

Hanging in the balance
MP FOR MAUN WEST: Dumelang Saleshando

The most public fall out between the BCP and the UDC was over Bophirima Ward bye-election when BCP defied UDC and went ahead to contest for elections in partnership with Alliance for Progressives.

A fortnight ago Saleshando spoke of indiscipline in the party and according to an insider, his target was MPs who stayed away from Bophirima ward campaign BCP Mps in support of Saleshando are also advocating for the party to hold primary elections in all constituencies to oust UDC aligned MPS.

Allegations are that there is a team within the BCP youth structure that has been tasked with making sure that the mission is achieved.

- Advertisement -

The Voice Reporter, DANIEL CHIDA looks at the five MPs who have been targeted and the possible candidates to be roped in to unseat unwanted elements.

There has been talk of recruiting back the former area MP, Bagalatia Arone to challenge the incumbent.

The bad relationship between Kapinga and Saleshando is alleged to be longstanding.

Some have suggested that the strained relationship could be because of different styles of leadership between the two men.

Kapinga won the 2014 general elections with 7577 votes followed by Bagalatia Arone of Botswana Democratic Party with 6816 and Kabelo Mahupe of AP in third position with 432 votes.

- Advertisement -
Hanging in the balance
MP FOR PALAPYE: Onneetse Ramogapi

Ethel Gampone, a businesswoman who lost primary elections in 2019 will challenge the Palapye MP again.

Although Ramogapi has not been outspoken about the BCP versus UDC fight, he didn’t help the BCP during Bophirima campaign.

He is also quiet on social media unlike his counterparts.

- Advertisement -

Ramogapi won with 5582 votes, with Moiseraele Goya of the BDP coming in second with5252 (Goya has since defected to BPF), and Dr Kolaatamo Malefho of BPF coming in third position with 1806 while Gape Motswaledi of AP garnered a paltry 1306.

Hanging in the balance
MP FOR NKANGE: Never Tshabang

Although he has been vocal on social media with this week’s Facebook post saying, ‘Floor-crossing law has caused all sorts of problems.

Some decisions would have long been taken,’ those earmarked to challenge him have chickened out.

Tshabang once had an interest to challenge for the party’s Secretary General position but later withdrew from the race.

It is alleged that he was sensed hostility and disapproval from the party leadership.

2014 was his second attempt at the general elections and Tshabang romped to victory with 7766 followed by Ishmael Mokgethi of BDP with 6806 and Edison Wotho of AP with 1458 votes.

Hanging in the balance

He is likely to come against Moncho Moncho, a BCP die-hard who lost to Goretetse Kekgonegile for party’s SG position.

Moncho will not be new to Mahalapye West as he once contested and lost against the Vice President Mompati Merafe before relocating to Gaborone.

Tshere won with 6016 followed by Bernard Bolele of BDP with 3925, Aobakwe Magapa of BPF with 1410 and Tsholofelo Sebele of AP with 253.

Hanging in the balance
MP FOR SELIBE PHIKWE WEST: Dithapelo Keorapetse

Perceived to be,‘ The Mastermind of the crew,’ Keorapetse has been marked as the one who mustn’t return to parliament at least not on a BCP ticket.

The BCP leadership has apparently vowed to see its former Spokesperson defeated during party elections come rain or shine.

Reuben Kaizer, Dumi Lopang, Powder Matlala, Dutch Leburu, Tshimologo Dingake, Diphetogo Maswabi, Lucas Modimana, Acsion Dikosha and University of Botswana Lecturer- cum –Political Analyst, Sennye Obuseng are some of the names that have been thrown around as possible capable candidates to uproot Keorapetse.

- Advertisement -

Keorapetse retained his position with 3987, with Allen Lekwapa of BDP coming second with 2537 and Masego Mosinyi of AP trailing with 225 votes in 2014.

1 Comment