Southern showdown

Portia Mlilo
FILE PIC: Division teams in action

First Division South set for thrilling final day

As far as finishes go, it doesn’t get much tighter than this!

The Debswana First Division South is set for a thrilling climax, with four teams going into the final day separated by a single point at the top of the table.

For the quartet of: CrackiT City Polar, Matebele, VTM FC and Notwane, their 22-game seasons have boiled down to 90 destiny-defining minutes.

From the four, one will emerge as champions, basking in the ecstasy of automatic promotion to the Premier League.

- Advertisement -

For another, the consolation of a play-off place awaits.

An unfortunate two, however, are fated to miss out altogether.

The stakes could not be any higher!

Timing their rise to the summit perfectly, CrackiT hold the advantage, but only just.

In their first season in the second tier, the Ramonaka-based side lead Matebele by a superior goal-difference of two, their ‘goals for’ column receiving a massive boost with a scarcely believable 9-0 trouncing of bottom club, Black Rangers at the weekend.

- Advertisement -

As the goals flew in for City Polar, another First Division newbie, VTM were falling to a shock 1-0 defeat to lowly Matebejana, a result which saw them drop from top spot to third.

Having led the log for much of the season, VTM now take on already relegated Broadhurst United as they bid to bounce back and secure a top-two finish.

Even then, three points would not be enough if both City Polar, who ironically play Matebejana, and Matebele, who host Mochudi Centre Chiefs in a mouth-watering derby at the Nest, win their games.

- Advertisement -

Magosi, however, who at one stage looked set to make the four-horse race a five-way shootout, will be desperate to derail Matebele’s promotion push and get one over their Kgatleng rivals.

Completing the quartet and looking to gatecrash the party, Notwane travel to Mmankgodi for a meeting with a URI Black Forest side, who have nothing to play for.

The same cannot be said for our famous four.

All the games will be played on Saturday at 15:30hrs as the sun finally sets on the south; one way or the other, all will be decided!

Leave a comment