FIFA 2010 World Cup in South Africa will go down in history as one of the best soccer spectacle in the world.
This is a football show piece that produced some of the shocking results! From the 3-2 defeat of Italy by Slovakia to Algeria’s spirited 0-0 draw against the overrated England, and right down  to Frank Lampard’s disallowed equaliser against the Germans and Carlos Tevez’s offside opener against the Mexicans. There is no dou8bt  that this was such an eventful football tournament and a fluffy slippery fish; an octopus called Paul that shocked the world by predicting the outcome of eight matches.
32 nations descended on the shores of South Africa for a month long duel to determine which nation is the best in the world. Ultimately Spain overcame the impressive Dutch team to clinch the most coveted price. The World Cup.
Spain having been labelled one of the greatest football nations to  have never won won a World Cup did it in style against another side carrying the same name tag.
Holland has been to three semi finals and are still to win the cup while Spain has never been to a  World Cup final.
With both nations hoping to clinch the most prestigious football trophy for the first, the world watched as English coach Howard Webb dish out a record nine yellow cards in a world cup final. Webb had to douse a burning inferno, the red blooded Dutch temper was getting out of control and when Nigel de Jong let fly with a kick to Xavi Alonso’s chest,  the English man had no choice but to reach for his cards.
The physical play continued until Johnny Heitinga was sent off for a second bookable offence. The Dutch were deflated and the Spaniards sensed victory and went for the kill.
Just two minutes before a looming penalty shoot-out Andres Iniesta received a well laid pass from Cesc Fabregas inside the 18 yards area; the Barcelona midfielder blasted home to Give Spain their first World Cup in their first ever final!

The firsts in 2010 did not start with Spain’s victory, in fact it started the moment South Africa won the bid to host the tournament. For the first time in 80 years the World Cup tournament was hosted on the African continent and  for  the first time in history six African countries took part in the spectacle.
Though all African teams save for Ghana were disappointing, it was a much better displayed compared to 1974 when the continent made its maiden World Cup through the then Zaire.
The team did not win a game or score any goals. Their 9–0 defeat against Yugoslavia still remains a World Cup record defeat.
The world was denied another first by Uruguay’s Luis Suarez who stopped a goal bound ball by his hands. Ghana’s top striker Asamoah Gyan failed to convert the resultant penalty to deny a  historic moment of being the  first African  nation to reach a World Cup semifinal.
On a low note,South Africa became the first host nation to fail to advance to the knock out stages.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Notify of

TRUE 2010 FIFA world cup will leave behind a legacy in Africa…the good nd the bad bt i wil lyk to CONGRATULATE our neighbours SA for successfully hosting the world s most prestigious event nd i will be happy one day to see Botswana hosing atleast AFCON though i know ther is still a lot still to be desired especially infrastructure